Official Review – Envy on the Coast’s – Lowcountry

Another Official Nate Shealy Review of:

Envy on the Coast
“Lowcountry”

Ever since their last release of Lucy Gray I’ve had high hopes for Envy on the Coast’s growth as a band. And I was very anxious to hear where they would go next as far as their sound. I saw Envy on the Coast back in their self titled EP days their live show dropped my jaw and I had to investigate their entire music collection and I instantly fell in love with it.

“Lowcountry” was released on March 30, 2010. I purchased it midnight of the 29th so I could hear it as soon as possible. I was a little surprised when I started listening because it was not what I was expecting at all. The album seems to have a lot of southern influence.

I applaud Envy on the Coast for thinking outside the box. As you’ve read in my interview (and will read in future interviews) with touring musicians, there seems to be a rather large dillution of the industry with “cookie cutter” bands who all go to for the same sound. You essentially predict their growth and that makes it somewhat boring. I attempted to predict Envy on the Coast’s growth before I heard the new album and I’m proud to say, they threw me for a loop. Out of the millions of predictable bands, they were able to emerge unpredictable. If I was wearing a hat, I’d tip it towards you fellas instead I’ll just give you a virtual applaud.

I guess it’s time to get to the rating huh? Not yet, stop rushing me.

My favorite track on this album is “Like I Do” absolutely brilliant and beautiful. I seem to fall in love with Envy on the Coast’s slower songs because you can almost taste the passion within them. Similarly on Lucy Gray I absolutely loved “Starving your Friends” and “Lapse”.

Ok fine, I’ll give you the rating..

Official Rating: 4.5 of 5 Stars

That’s right! Our highest rating yet! Maybe I’m just sick of predictable nonsense, but I’d like to sincerely thank Envy on the Coast for restoring faith in the music industry.

Go buy this album, it’s refreshing and unique.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

