Five Albums, on repeat.

Do you have any albums you could listen to over and over?

PLEASE NOTE THIS ART IS COPYRIGHTED BY NATESHEALY.COM !!!

There’s certain albums that always seem to get some playing time almost every week on my iPod. Once you find an album like this, it’s one of the best feelings ever. You never get tired of it, you never skip a song and time seems to fly by when you play it! If you find an album like this, hold tight and enjoy because it’s almost certainly going to be a gem in your collection for quite a long time!

This is a post dedicated to five albums that are like that for me. There are more, but these are probably my top five (not in any order).

#1. Saves the Day – Sound the Alarm
This album, in my opinion, is Saves the Day’s best album (I know the hardcore Saves the Day fans loved their early days of Through Being Cool, that album is excellent, but not my personal favorite). I think the sound they found on this album is unique and entertaining. My favorite track on this album would have to be “Bones”.

#2. Thrice – The Illusion of Safety
As I’ve said before, Thrice will be mentioned on this blog a lot because they are such a dynamic band. I’ve mentioned The Illusion of Safety before as having great “flow”. This album is genius! All of the songs are catchy, you find yourself able to sing along after a few listens and it keeps you craving more! I’ve played this album over and over in a short time span of one day and I never get tired of it! My favorite track on this album is probably “See You in the Shallows”.

#3. New Found Glory – Nothing Gold Can Stay
This band is hands down the best pop punk band ever (and yes I’m including Blink 182). I think a lot of it has to do with the hardcore influence their guitarist Chad has. There’s just something powerful when you’re listening to a track and the music breaks to a crowd yelling part of the verse (hardcore music does this a lot). This album is especially relevant if you’ve had a recent heart break, you are almost guaranteed to find a song to relate your situation to. My favorite track on this album is “2’s and 3’s”.

#4. Coheed & Cambria –In Keeping Secrets of Silent Earth: 3
This album is when I really started getting into Coheed & Cambria (here we go again, I can see the Coheed fans shunning me for not selecting The Second Stage Turbine Blade. Similar to the Saves the Day situation, this album is great but not my personal favorite.) Claudio’s vocals are so catchy I was singing along after two times through the album. There’s nothing like Coheed’s unique sound, unique is good…scratch that unique is great and essential to keep listening to music fresh and exciting. My favorite track on this album is the self titled track “In Keeping Secrets of Silent Earth: 3”

#5. Hit the Lights – Skip School, Start Fights
Hit the Lights is one of my favorite bands right now. They have some of the most catchy pop punk songs ever. All of their released music is great, but I find myself listening to Skip School, Start Fights the most. My favorite track on this album is “Drop the Girl”.

These are just a couple of my favorite albums, my treasured all stars in my vast and diverse musical collection. What are some of yours?

As a quick note… I notice that 4 of the 5 of these albums were released when I was in high school which was over 6 years ago. That’s 80% of this population… Does that tell us something about the music industry? I realize these are only my picks and also not all of them… But just something to think about.

Hopefully, you paid more attention to the content of the blog rather than my professional artistic expression via paint… If you found yourself distracted by the profound inner messages that were speaking to you while admiring my image, please e-mail me and I will send you a text version of this post.

 

12 Comments

  1. One of my faves is also New Found Glory – Catalyst.

    Other albums I can listen to all the way through:

    Sarah McLachlan ~ Surfacing
    Dashboard Confessional ~ A Mark, A Mission, A Brand, A Scar
    Fall Out Boy ~ Folie a Deux

    I’m sure there are a few more, but these stick out to me. It’s pretty rare (for me at least) to find an album that doesn’t have at least one song to make you want to push next, but these stand up to me from beginning to end.

    • Awesome Stacey! Thanks for sharing 🙂 I have all but Sarahs, I’ll have to check it out.

      • The album of hers is haunting to me. I love it.

  2. I can only think of 2 off the top of my head:

    1. Shiny Toy Guns – We Are Pilots

    2. Death Cab For Cutie – PLANS

    🙂

    • I’ll have to check out We Are Pilots. I’ve heard of them but never actually heard their music. Thanks for sharing Jenn!

    • Death Cab has some great stuff too. Plans would probably be my favorite as well 😉

  3. Pretty much any of the first 3 Coheed & Cambria albums, although based on my star ratings in WMP it looks like I also like In Keeping Secrets best.

    Hours – Funeral for a Friend
    Master of Puppets – Metallica
    Translating the Name – Saosin
    System of a Down – System of a Down

    That was fun! Thanks Nate!

    • Translating the Name by Saosin is the best EP ever released. I’m going to do a feature for that in the future. Hours is a great album too! Thanks Dave.

  4. 1. Coheed and Cambria:IKSSE3(honestly though…. all of them)
    2. Linkin Park – Hybrid Theory
    3. Incubus – Morning View
    4. Anberlin – Cities
    5. Third Eye Blind – Blue

    I could easyily throw in another 5 or 10 or 20, but ill leave it at that 😛

  5. 1. Loveless~ my bloody valentine
    2. spilt milk~ jellyfish
    3. sign o the times~ prince
    4. fire garden~ steve vai
    5. here come the warm jets~ brian eno
    6. the great radio controversy~ Tesla


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

