Nate’s Mix Tape Monday – 5/31/2010 – Jamie Lidell

Nate’s Mix Tape Monday

Featured Song: Multiply
By Jamie Lidell

We’re going to go into the Soul genre (who says white boys don’t have soul?!) this week for Nate’s Mix Tape Monday. I found out about this artist recently from a blog post that has a similar purpose as my blog, to show the world there’s an abundance of great music not recognized by main stream media. Jamie also takes a page out of Michael Jackson’s book and includes his own beat boxing in his tracks (underneath all the music. Michael Jackson used to beat box and build on top of that). I think that’s awesome that a track will literally start with nothing but human sound with no instrument, or technology.

I just find comfort in the fact that it’s the person making the melody not technology. Anyway, enjoy!

 

5 Comments

  1. I hate to contradict you, Nate, but I don’t just post music on my blog. While bringing little-known artists to the masses is part of my mandate (heh, I said man-date), I also make social commentary (not a lot of that yet, though), try to enlighten people, and give them some thing to laugh at as well.

    Ever seen cats playing with a Theremin? Lemme tell ya, there’s some serious entertainment value.

    • Haha, yeah I know you’re main purpose on your blog isn’t only music. I actually thought about that when I did the post originally I had it as your blog has a similar purpose, but I changed it to “post” because that post is generally what I’d like to help society feel enlightened about music instead of force fed it through radio waves.

      Either way, anybody who is trying to help the underdogs, I’m a fan of. So for that I give you a virtual *high five*.

      • My bad, I missed the update. I’m from Canada, eh, so I’m kinda slow, eh?

        Let’s bring the people to the music, shall we? *takes five*

        It’s been a long time since I listened to the radio and I don’t miss it at all.

      • Absolutely man! I despise the radio… And to be honest, I blame Canada 🙂 I still haven’t got the chance to check out your other post but I definitely will!

  2. It’s Nickelback, isn’t it? Man, I have friends who work as cashiers at a supermarket and they deliberately say, “…and here’s your five cents change.” Just to avoid saying the band name.

    Check out some of the links in the body, too. There’s a couple of real gems, especially the cover of “Photograph”.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • The sky is the limit!

  • Nate Inc.