I’d like to SUPLEX the word COMPLEX

I’d like to SUPLEX the word COMPLEX

Has this situation ever happened to you?

You: Oh, have you heard this band? I love their stuff!

Mr. EgoMusician: They suck, I can play all their stuff with my eyes closed while sitting on an airplane in coach AND eating the 7 peanuts they gave me.

Ugh… I’m not going to lie, I’ve been in Mr. EgoMusician’s shoes, I’ve said those exact words… in high school. But I’ve grown to realize musicianship is NOT about complexity or the ability to play an instrument using complex and difficult progressions. It’s about the sound you generate that can form a pleasing melody to ones ears…That’s it.

Now before all you guitar club people jump on my back, I’d like to say complexity can be an awesome feature if used correctly, emphasizing the word correctly

Let’s think about this a little bit. Sure, there are those music lovers who enjoy the science of music, they seek out those musicians who are way above par and innovators of an instrument or genre. I can get into that, and I understand your quest. But to most listeners of music, it’s all about connection and entertainment. Those two words can essentially group almost everyone who enjoys music together.

I think this is why I love Pop Punk so much… It’s usually quite simple to play, but so catchy! I think it’s a necessity to have music you can roll your windows down to and just rock out. Simplicity is often liberating. Most don’t realize how many songs are based off the same melody/progression as Pachelbel’s Cannon D, check out the video below it’s funny but so true. Is this a problem? I wouldn’t say it is, as I’ve said many times before connection is music. If you hear a song that grasps you then the musician did his/her part.

Let’s stop being music snobs, analyzing music is one thing, attempting to bring someone down based on how easy their power chords in their song that everybody knows is another.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • The sky is the limit!

  • Nate Inc.