Visualization – Debt Freedom

It’s January 1st, 2014 I just received my paycheck and I’m about to make the last payment on my car that will officially make me debt free — what a way to start the new year! As I click the payment button, I raise my glass of Gentleman Jack whiskey on the rocks with a single maraschino cherry cut in half to the screen and take a sip. I take a deep breath, exhaling the inner relief that has the scent of my favorite whiskey and I hit the submit button – yes, I’m sure. And just like that, I’m debt free!

There’s an extreme rush of accomplishment that comes over my body like stepping into a hot bath after being cold for hours. I can do nothing but smile. I post up on my Facebook to let all my friends and family who have supported me through my journey know that I’ve finally arrived. I get an overwhelming response of approval and congratulatory comments from my loved ones.

I decide I’d like to take a ride in my paid for car. I drive back roads that rock me back and forth as if the universe is congratulating me similar to scoring a touchdown and your team rushes over to pat your shoulder pads pushing you back and forth with excitement and approval. Windows down, blasting Don’t Stop Believin’ by Journey, I laugh at myself about how cheesy it is picking music that would make you think of a movie where the awkward kid finally gets a date to the prom, but it feels right.

I pull up to a bar I’ve never been to and decide to go in and have a meal that doesn’t include any beans or rice and a drink that isn’t on special. As I eat that meal, I am thankful for every bite and most of all I’m thankful for the behaviors that brought me to this meal.

My journey has just begun….

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

